Top Ten Tuesday – Aug 23

toptentuesdaybuttonHosted by The Broke and The Bookish

August 23: Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (Or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet (this is going to be sad considering how many of those I have unread six years later…)

So, I started “Blogging” (AKA letting people know what I was reading online) in 2015. Most of these books have been on my TBR pile since high school. High school was really when I decided I was going to be the “book” girl, and really started reading so I bought a bunch of classics and never read them; which is how they ended up here.

1.) The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

I don’t know what this book is about, but it’s huge. I think I heard about it on Gilmore Girls, and then when I was looking for scholarships for college this one kept popping up where you had to write an essay about The Fountainhead. I didn’t by the book until I was in college though, I think it was just out of curiosity on why there was a scholarship for it.

ayn-rand-gilmore-girls
I was right, it was on GG. And in the episode “A Tisket, A Tasket”, one of my faves.

I call this section; “Books I heard and assumed all “bookish” people had read”

2.) Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
3.) The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas
4.) Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

This section is dedicated to Jenna

5.) Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
6.) A Tale Of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

The sets I never finished

7.) Hitchhiker’s Guide To the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
8.) The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S.Lewis

9.) American Gods by Neil Gaiman

I actually started this book back in my senior year of college. I got about 20 pages in, and couldn’t finish it. However, now that it’s getting a T.V. show there’s a good chance I’ll give it another go. Plus, I’ve read two other Gaiman books since and loved both of them. Maybe, it just wasn’t the right Gaiman to start with.

10.) Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling

I’m a bad fan. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

