Jan 12: Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesdaybuttonHosted By The Broke and the Bookish

January 12: Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t

I’m going to be honest. Before I had a blog, before I entered into the online book community, I didn’t really pay attention to new book releases. Unless it was Harry Potter, than I was there are midnight for it. As for anything else, it wasn’t on my radar.

However, now I’m starting to pay closer attention. Additionally, I’m reading more modern fiction than I used to (when you’re obsessed with classics everything has already been published). So, there were actually a few titles that came out last year that I intended to get/read, but ended up for one reason or another not.

(Summaries taken from Goodreads.)

BOOK OF SPECULATION_MECH_01.indd

1.) The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler

A sweeping and captivating debut novel about a young librarian who is sent a mysterious old book, inscribed with his grandmother’s name. What is the book’s connection to his family?

22557272

2.) The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

download (1)

3.) The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

23130039

4.) The Pretender’s Lady by Alan Gold

From the author of The Last Testament comes the true love of Bonnie Prince Charlie, her adventures in America and her lasting legacy.

150709_SBR_Coates-COVER.jpg.CROP.original-original

5.) Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Caotes

In a profound work that pivots from the biggest questions about American history and ideals to the most intimate concerns of a father for his son, Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a powerful new framework for understanding our nation’s history and current crisis.

22856330

6.) A Small Indiscretion by Jan Ellison

With the emotional complexity of Everything I Never Told You and the psychological suspense of The Girl on the Train, O. Henry Prize winner Jan Ellison delivers a brilliantly paced, beautifully written debut novel about one woman’s reckoning with a youthful mistake.

9780553418774

7.) The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book a reader needs, Perdu mends broken hearts and souls. The only person he can’t seem to heal through literature is himself; he’s still haunted by heartbreak after his great love disappeared. She left him with only a letter, which he has never opened.

41LaBpUJBHL

8.) Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari

A hilarious, thoughtful, and in-depth exploration of the pleasures and perils of modern romance from one of this generation’s sharpest comedic voices.

9780812995220_custom-cd3c9d8c212167329b30376373669f9a1ad6134c-s400-c85

9.) Among the Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpont

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.

23492661

10.) Maybe In Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

From the acclaimed author of Forever, Interrupted and After I Docomes a breathtaking new novel about a young woman whose fate hinges on the choice she makes after bumping into an old flame; in alternating chapters, we see two possible scenarios unfold—with stunningly different results.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s