2015 In Review

This would be the end of my first official year of book blogging, and I have to say I have noticed a change. I was a late bloomer in terms of reading. I didn’t like to read until I was 11/12 and started reading Harry Potter. And I honestly wasn’t constantly reading until I hit high school. I played a lot of sports, I didn’t have a lot of time.

When I first started I was a bit intimated because my “Have read” bookshelf wasn’t nearly as high of a count as others. I had felt this same anxiety in college as an English major. However, much like what happened in college, I used it to motivate me. I feel as though I have honestly read more in the past year than I have before. I really do owe that to this blog. I owe it to all of you who I follow and who follow me. I owe it to all the challenges that pushed me to read more.

I don’t post as much as when I first started. I don’t review as much as when I first started. I picked up a full time job since I started this blog and it took a lot of my writing time, but actually gave me more reading time (I take the bus). I’ve been thinking of how to work my schedule in with my blogging and that’s going to be one of my challenges for myself.

With a new year comes changes.

The only weekly meme I’ll be keeping is the Top Ten Tuesday, and it will likely keep up the pace I’ve had (where I only do the ones I can come up with 10 for).

I’ve taken inspiration from the Reading England 2015 challenge and will now be mapping my reads. I plan to have a US map by states, an England map by counties, and a World map by countries. I’ll be attempting to follow the following rules:

1.) Book must be present in the setting for 3 chapters or more for it to count.

2.) Only 5 duplicate settings in total allowed.

3.) Can only count 1 setting per book.

4.) Rereads count.

5.) For biographies or non-fiction – setting where person lived longest or where bulk of story takes place.

I’ve also noticed when it comes to challenges I’m like those women who don’t pay for the yoga class but just stand off to the side pretending to not be following the instructor when they are. I’ve yet to decide if I want to continue this practice or actually get my backside in motion and follow-through on them.

 

Now for the reading aspect of this year’s endeavor. I don’t want to dwell on the bad, but look at the good and the good to come.

I’ve read a lot more non-fiction than I have before and liking it. I’m finding memoirs to be a lot less boring (and less cliche) than I always thought. Particularly when it’s funny women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, or Mindy Kaling. As for biographies most tended to lean to British monarchy such as in We two, or The Greatest Traitor. But I found the American version of royalty in the Roosevelt’s Franklin and Eleanor.

Sci-fi and Fantasy also had a good year. Station Eleven was one of my favorite reads of the year, as was The Buried Giant. The Martian lived up to the hype, in my opinion, and I was a little sad I hadn’t found it earlier. I finally finished a Neil Gaiman book with Good Omens, and I plan to read more. And The Library at Mount Char was all I had built it up to be and more.

I finally got around to reading a few books I’ve had waiting on my shelf for awhile. I made up for my lacking high school years by reading The Great Gatsby. Some of my last Borders buys were finally read with Wit’s End and around Halloween with The Daughters of Witching Hill, and I got around to Bridget Jones’ Diary at last.

I also found a new author I plan to seek out more in Georgette Heyer and as previously mentioned Neil Gaiman. (And yes Jenna I finally read a Dickens.)

For 2016 I plan to challenge myself to read more:

  • Graphic Novels
  • Books already on my shelf
  • Set more outside US & England
  • Contemporary Fiction (but God I could never make myself read post-modernist)

I hope you had a successful and good 2015!
Do you expect any new challenges or changes for 2016?

Leave a Reply

