rip10300

Hosted by The Estella Society

I’ve decided to take part in this year’s R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril mainly cause I find the genres to be literary crack. Poe was one of the first poets I found I actually liked, let alone love. My mom made a stop on our summer road trip to Salem Mass. cause I might have gone through a serious Crucible phase of life. My favorite week of my study abroad was our “Mysteries of London” week where I became best friends with the guest professor while also freaking him out on my knowledge of Jack the Ripper during our tour of White Chapel. And during my last year at college I was taking a “Classic Horror Monster” Literature/Film class the same semester I was taking a “true crime”  literature class.

From the challenge’s page:

“Without further ado, pick your poison, won’t you? September 1st is here, and we’re ready to begin!

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

That is what embodies the stories, written and visual, that we celebrate with the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event.

As time has wound on, we’ve discovered that simple rules are best:

1. Have fun reading (and watching).
2. Share that fun with others. “

The challenge will run from Sept. 1 – October 31st. I probably wont get officially started until the weekend but here’s my challenge pile.

RIPX

 

I’ve read a lot of Poe’s short stories and poems, but I plan to read through those in the collected works volume I have of his work. Same goes for my Sherlock Holmes collected works.

I read Dracula and Frankenstein for my “Classic Horror Monster” class but like the majority of English Majors who are taking multiple lit classes during their senior year; I heavy duty skimmed em.

“Vampire Stories” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is a book I vaguely remember reading a few of the stories from but never finished. (But seriously, who knew Conan Doyle wrote vampire stories.)

“Daughters Of The Witching Hill” by Mary Sharratt is a novel I picked up way back when Borders was going out of business. The novel was inspired by the 1612 Pendle witch trials.

 

JSMN-cover1library-mt-char-jacketI also intend to buy these two novels by the end of the challenge. I’ve been wanting to have them anyways, this is just good timing for it. They’re “Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell”, a novel set in England during the Napoleonic Wars where Magic once was practiced and existed in England. And “The Library At Mount Char” a recent release set around murders and a cult-ish like group.

Leave a Reply

